SODEFOR

Home

Announcement

A British NGO has recently prepared and distributed a report on the activities of Sodefor and Forabola in the Democratic Republic of Congo. This biased, paternalistic, and politicized report has been widely picked up and shared by certain international media outlets.

Sodefor and Forabola strenuously contest all of the accusations against them and which are contained in this report.

Furthermore, they are not the subject of any accusations or legal proceedings by any qualified authority.

Sodefor and Forabola are aware that they operate within a special kind of industry, and continue to seek ways to improve the quality of their services. They regularly work with relevant third party consultants to carry out independent audits concerning their operations. The goals of these actions is to constantly reflect on the management of forestry activities from an environmental, social, and governance perspective. Recommendations relating to alternative approaches, which may be adopted to develop a sustainable form of management for the forest and social practices, have always been taken into account. Sodefor and Forabola will not be apart from this principle in the future.

Today, as they have been in the past, Sodefor and Forabola are ready to respond candidly to any potential interrogation by any relevant authority with regards to their activities. All general announcements which may be useful to their customers or to the wider interested public will continue to be published through the website www.sodefor.net.

Sodefor and Forabola do not, however, intend to submit to the NGO’s unfounded injunctions and reserve the right to demand, through any available means, reparations for the harm unjustly caused to them.

Created in 1994, Sodefor is a Congolese private limited company. It first became active in the province of Bandundu, 400 km northeast of Kinshasa.

Forescom was a state company, nationalized in 1974 and dissolved in 1990, with an industrial saw unit and a plywood unit in Nioki.

The State made all the concessions (Supply Guarantees) held by Forescom through a memorandum of agreement signed by associates. The surface area of the supply concessions transferred to Sodefor exceeded 1,700,00 Ha.

The troubles that took hold of the country beginning in 1996 prevented logging in a large part of these areas, and even led to the total shut-down of the Nioki industrial unit in 1998/1999. It should be emphasized that despite this shut-down, the company kept the Nioki hospital continuously operational during this period, as well as the entire regional health zone.

In the early 2000s, the State granted the company new forest titles, far removed from war zones, in order to guarantee supply to its Kinshasa factories, which was bought back from Sokinex in 2001 and includes a sawmill for the production of plywood and a peeling line

Today, with its 1,500 employees and two processing units in Nioki and Kinshasa, Sodefor is firmly committed to sustainable management and is a leading company in the Democratic Republic of Congo. For Sodefor, business is synonymous with social and environmental responsibility.

This willingness to do good and contribute to sustainable development is founded on three pillars:

  • The economic pillar, without which the other pillars are not possible, is the guarantee of the company’s profitability and longevity.
  • The social pillar must ensure that the company’s very existence constitutes a benefit for its employees and the riverside communities by contributing to the amelioration of their living conditions.
  • The environmental pillar takes into account the environmental impact of the company’s activities.
Sodefor is therefore guided by the following principles:
  • Se conformer aux exigences légales, tant nationales qu’internationales, applicables à nos activités Respecter les droits fonciers et d’exploitation des terres et des ressources forestières ;
  • Respecting the legal and traditional rights of the property’s indigenous people with regards to logging and the management of their farm land and resources.
  • Maintaining or improving sustainable social and economic well-being for forest workers and local communities;
  • Promoting the efficient processing of many forestry products and services with the goal of ensuring their economic profitability and generating a large number of environmental and social benefits;
  • Preserving biological diversity and its associated values, as well as preserving unique and fragile water resources, grounds, ecosystems, and landscapes, in order to maintain the forest’s ecological functions and its integrity;
  • Developing management plans for each of the concessions (all of SODEFOR’s concessions will have a management plan before the end of 2019. Several management plans have already been created and submitted for the approval of the minister, others will follow before the end of 2018).
  • Continuously evaluating the state of the forest, the production of forestry resources, the traceability chain, and management activities, as well as social and environmental impacts;
  • Identifying forests with high conservation values and taking precautions in order to guarantee their conservation of the improvement of the attributes that define such forests.

SODEFOR sprl

2165, Avenue des Poids Lourds,
Commune de la Gombe
Kinshasa
République Démocratique du Congo
Tel.: +243 85 127 29 91
E-mail: mail@sodefor.net

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

SODEFOR

Accueil

Communiqué

Une ONG britannique a récemment émis et diffusé un rapport sur les activités de Sodefor et de Forabola en République Démocratique du Congo. Ce rapport partial, paternaliste et politiquement orienté, a été largement repris et diffusé par certains médias internationaux.

Sodefor et Forabola contestent avec la plus extrême vigueur l’ensemble des accusations portées contre elles et contenues dans ce rapport.

D’ailleurs elles ne font l’objet d’aucune mise en cause ou procédure par quelque autorité qualifiée.

Conscientes qu’elles oeuvrent dans le cadre d’une industrie particulière, Sodefor et Forabola cherchent sans cesse à améliorer la qualité de leurs prestations et s’entourent régulièrement de consultants tiers compétents pour conduire des audits indépendants en relation avec leurs opérations. Le but de ces mandats est de mener une réflexion constante sur la gestion des activités forestières, sous l’angle environnemental, social et de gouvernance. Les recommandations liées aux approches alternatives, qui peuvent être adoptées pour développer une gestion durable de la forêt et les pratiques sociales, ont toujours été prises en compte. Sodefor et Forabola ne dérogeront pas à ce principe dans le futur.

Sodefor et Forabola sont aujourd’hui comme hier disposées à répondre sans réserve à toute éventuelle interrogation de toute autorité compétente en relation avec leurs activités. Par l’intermédiaire du site www.sodefor.net toutes les communications générales utiles à leurs clients ou plus largement à tout public intéressé continueront d’être publiées.

Sodefor et Forabola n’entendent cependant pas se soumettre aux injonctions infondées de l’ONG et se réservent le droit de demander par toute voie ouverte la réparation du tort qui leur est injustement causé.

Créée en 1994, la Sodefor est une SPRL de droit Congolais. Elle a débuté ses activités dans la Province du Bandundu, à 400 km au Nord Est de Kinshasa.

Société d’État nationalisée en 1974 et dissoute en 1990, la Forescom disposait d’une unité industrielle de sciage et une de déroulage de bois (contreplaqués) à Nioki.

L’État a apporté par protocole d’accord signé entre associés toutes les concessions (Garanties d’Approvisionnement) qui étaient détenues par Forescom. La superficie des concessions d’approvisionnement transférées à la Sodefor dépassait 1.700.000 Ha.

Les troubles qu’a connu le pays à partir de 1996, ont empêché l’exploitation sur une grande partie de ces superficies et ont même entraîné l’arrêt total de l’unité industrielle de Nioki en 1998/1999. Il faut souligner que malgré l’arrêt, l’entreprise a toujours, pendant cette période, maintenu le fonctionnement sans faille de l’hôpital de Nioki ainsi que de l’ensemble de la zone de santé régionale.

La société a obtenu de la part de l’État, au début des années 2000, de nouveaux titres forestiers éloignés des zones de guerre afin de garantir l’approvisionnement de son usine de Kinshasa, rachetée à Sokinex en 2001 et qui comporte une scierie pour fabrication de contreplaqués et une ligne de déroulage.

A ce jour, forte de ses 1500 salariés, de ses deux unités de transformation, à Nioki et Kinshasa, engagée résolument dans l’aménagement durable, Sodefor est l’une des entreprises leader de la République Démocratique du Congo. Entreprise leader veut dire, pour Sodefor, responsabilité sociale et environnementale.

Cette volonté de bien faire, de contribuer à un développement durable, repose sur trois piliers:

  • Le pilier économique sans lequel les autres piliers ne sont pas réalisables, est l’assurance de la rentabilité et de la pérennité de l’entreprise.
  • Le pilier social doit établir que l’existence même de l’entreprise constitue un bénéfice pour les travailleurs et les populations riveraines en créant des conditions pour l’amélioration de leurs conditions de vie
  • Le pilier environnemental qui prend en compte les impacts des activités de l’entreprise sur l’environnement.
Sodefor se guide donc par les principes suivants:
  • Se conformer aux exigences légales, tant nationales qu’internationales, applicables à nos activités Respecter les droits fonciers et d’exploitation des terres et des ressources forestières ;
  • Respecter les droits légaux et coutumiers des peuples autochtones sur la propriété, sur l’exploitation et sur la gestion de leurs terres terroirs et ressources.
  • Maintenir ou améliorer le bien-être social et économique durable des travailleurs forestiers et des communautés locales ;
  • Promouvoir l’exploitation efficiente des nombreux produits et services forestiers en vue d’assurer leur profitabilité économique et réaliser un grand nombre de bénéfices environnementaux et sociaux ;
  • Conserver la diversité biologique et ses valeurs associées, ainsi que les ressources hydriques, les sols, les écosystèmes et paysages particuliers et fragiles, de manière à maintenir les fonctions écologiques et l’intégrité de la forêt ;
  • Élaborer des plans d’aménagement pour chacune de ses concessions (toutes les concessions de SODEFOR auront un plan d’aménagement avant la fin de l’année 2019, plusieurs plans d’amenagement sont actuellement termines et soumis à l’approbation du ministere, d’autres le seront avant la fin de 2018);
  • Évaluer en permanence l’état de la forêt, la production des ressources forestières, la chaîne de traçabilité, les activités d’aménagement ainsi que leurs impacts sociaux et environnementaux ;
  • Identifier les forêts à hautes valeurs de conservation et appliquer le principe de précaution afin de garantir la conservation ou l’amélioration des attributs qui définissent de telles forêts.

SODEFOR sprl

2165, Avenue des Poids Lourds,
Commune de la Gombe
Kinshasa
République Démocratique du Congo
Tel.: +243 85 127 29 91
E-mail: mail@sodefor.net

fr_FR
en_GB fr_FR